Uncategorized

Adventures in Bullet Journaling

Aka how I got my shit organised and how it stayed that way.

Hey Gang! How’s those new years resolutions coming along? Mine are all going swimmingly, especially my leisure ones: I am reading my fifth book of the year (A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin), I have watched 6/100 films (We just finished Hidden Figures and I bawled my eyes out!), and I’ve finished three TV seasons (Holla at my girls Rory and Lorelai)! And look at me, writing my second blog post of the year after such a long hiatus!

But on to the meat of the sandwich, today we’re talking about Bullet Journals.

What, I hear you asking, is a Bullet Journal? 

The concept is simple, and best described by creator Ryder Carrol:

“The Bullet Journal is a customizable and forgiving organization system. It can be your to-do list, sketchbook, notebook, and diary, but most likely, it will be all of the above. It will teach you to do more with less.”

I jumped onto the Bullet Journalling bandwagon in the middle of 2016 after many many attempts to start and stick to the habit of keeping a journal/diary, and constantly getting overwhelmed or just letting life get in the way and another journal falls by the wayside (much like this still underused blog, sigh). I wanted a way to both express my creativity and get my shit into order, and thanks to Buzzfeed articles and lots of swoon-worthy pictures on Instagram, I found the revolutionary Bullet Journal.

 

It sounded perfect for what I needed, right? So, armed with an old notebook (as a stationery addict I have many lying around, even more when I signed up for Oh Deer’s Papergang – a must for any stationery lover), and a new pen from Paperchase, I got to work. And like magic, it stuck! Everyday for seven months now I have been using my Bullet Journal to plan out my days, and it has been such a help. Not only do I now remember things like appointments easily, it is also a great place for all those little to-do lists and much more.

My Bullet Journal has grown and flourished over the past seven months, and over Christmas I upgraded to a beautiful turquoise Leuchtturm1917; it was definitely my favourite present this year!

My favourite part of the Bullet Journal is the collections, and for me this is encapsulated by my To Watch list. As I tend to watch a lot of TV (as you can tell by being three weeks in and three series down), on a lot of different platforms, I found it handy to have one master list of what I was watching and what episode I was on.

So, to sum up – you need to get on the Bullet Journalling trend if you know what’s good for you. It’s been so good for calming my anxiety, and you can make it as creative or as minimalist or just as scrappy as you want! What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

